5.9 C
New York
Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Buy now

T20 World Cup 2022: THIS Pakistani batter replaces Fakhar Zaman in Pakistani squad Mohammad Haris | Cricket News

The Event Technical Committee of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 has approved Mohammad Haris to replace Fakhar Zaman in the Pakistan squad on Thursday (November 3). Pakistan Cricket Board named Mohammad Harris to replace the injured Fakhar Zaman for the remainder of the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Haris was named to replace Fakhar after he sustained an injury to his right knee. Fakhar suffered a knee injury before entering the tournament and it was aggravated after Sunday’s game against the Netherlands. “Of course, with any knee injury, it takes time to recover 100 percent. Fakhar and the team understood the risks of entering the tournament and we got him in. You saw how he performed with batting… Unfortunately, in the last game he had a bit of a twist that aggravated his injury,” ESPNcricinfo quoted Pakistan as saying team doctor Najeebullah Soomro.

“We were aware of the risks of the comeback. He is clearly an important player for the team. The player, the medical staff and the team management knew that. We decided to bring him back in. In cricket and any other sport we take risks. Sometimes they pay off, sometimes they don’t,” he added.

Two defeats by the narrowest margin have seen Pakistan on the brink of the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, but not quite out of the picture in terms of qualifying for the semi-finals. The Pakistani team still has a hint of hope of reaching the knockout stage. First they have to beat South Africa on Thursday.

Even if the Men-in-Green take victories in their last two group matches against South Africa and Bangladesh, they will need different results to find their way to a spot in the semi-finals. The replacement of a player requires the approval of the Events Technical Committee before the replacement player can be officially added to the squad.

The Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Event Technical Committee consists of Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket (Chairman), Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Events; Peter Roach, Cricket Australia, Shane Doyle, Local Organizing Committee T20 Men’s 2022 World Cup, Shaun Pollock (Independent) and Ian Bishop (Independent).

(With ANI inputs)

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles