-2 C
New York
Friday, February 3, 2023

Buy now

Suryakumar Yadav named ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year | Cricket news

DUBAI: Swashbuckling India middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who had an outstanding run in the shortest format in the year 2022, was named the winner on Wednesday ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year by the sport’s global governing body.
Surya had a phenomenal run last year breaking a plethora of records in the T20Is.
Popularly known as ‘SKY’, the 32-year-old amassed 1164 runs in 31 T20I matches at an average of 46.56 and a strike rate of 187.43 last year.
He beat people like Sam CurranPakistan wicketkeeper batter Mohammed Rizwan and Zimbabwe’s batsman Sikandar Raza for top honours.
However, last year’s Indian vice-captain and Cricketer of the Year Smriti Mandhana lost out to Australia’s Tahlia McGrath in the women’s category.
In 2022, Surya became only the second batsman to make more than 1,000 runs in a calendar year in T20Is and finished the year as the top run catcher.
Surya hit an astonishing 68 sixes over the course of the year, by far the most recorded by anyone in a single year in the format’s history.
The Indian was the leading hitter for his team all year round, beating two hundred and nine and a half centuries.
Surya was at his best during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, with three fifties in six innings and an average of almost 60. It was striking that his success rate was again high at 189.68.
Having already racked up a ton earlier this year, Suryakumar continued his brilliant year post-multination tournament, earning his second hundred in T20Is in the New Zealand bilateral series.
Surya also became the top ranked T20 player, earning 890 rating points in his career.
(with input from PTI)
Watch Suryakumar Yadav makes history and becomes the first Indian men’s player to take the T20I Player of the Year Award

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles