11.5 C
New York
Sunday, November 27, 2022

Buy now

Shikhar Dhawan replaces Mayank Agarwal as captain of Punjab Kings | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Veteran India opener Shikhar Dhawan will replace Mayank Agarwal as Punjab Kings captain for the 2023 Indian Premier League.
The decision was made at the franchise’s board meeting on Wednesday.
The move was on the expected lines after the 31-year-old from Karnataka failed to advance the team to the IPL play-offs earlier this year.
Agarwal then became captain for the 2022 edition KL Rahul decided to move to Lucknow Super Giants. In addition to the team’s inconsistent run, Agarwal’s form also declined as he scored 196 runs at an average of 16.33.

The franchise had thought about making Dhawan the skipper last year as well, but decided to go ahead with Agarwal.
“The board has decided to make Dhawan captain. He has all the experience both as a player and captain in the IPL and also did well for the team in his first season last year,” an IPL source told PTI.
Punjab had paid Rs 8.25 crore earlier this year for Dhawan’s services on the mega auction. The 36-year-old southpaw paid back his confidence by scoring 460 runs in 14 games with an average of 38.33 and a strike rate of 122.66.
The franchise is keen to keep Agarwal despite handing over the leadership duties to Dhawan. A decision will be made once the player retention deadline is set for November 15th.
While Dhawan has been a consistent performer in the IPL, he only plays in the 50-over format for India. Most recently, he captains the second tier India ODI team and will lead the squad in New Zealand later this month. In the IPL, he has managerial experience at Sunrisers Hyderabad.
Punjab will also have a new head coach in Trevor Bayliss, who led England to the 2019 ODI World Cup title in 2012 and 2014 and KKR to two IPL titles. Bayliss will be assisted by his compatriot Brad Haddin.
Team owners have high hopes for the new coach and captain as the franchise searches for its first title. Punjab’s only final appearance was in 2014. They finished sixth in the previous four seasons.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles