7.9 C
New York
Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Buy now

Rohit Sharma excluded from 1st Bangladesh Test, Abhimanyu Easwaran named his replacement | Cricket news

NEW DELHI: India captain Rohit Sharma, who injured his left thumb while fielding the second one-day match against Bangladesh, has been ruled out of the first test. This has been announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in a press release KL Rahul will lead Team India in Rohit’s absence.
pacer Muhammad Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are also ruled out of the two-Test series against Bangladesh as they failed to fully recover from their respective shoulder and knee injuries.
Opener Abhimanyu Easwaran was added to the squad as Rohit’s replacement.
Cheteshwar Pujara will be Rahul’s deputy for the first test.
“India captain Rohit Sharma met with a specialist in Mumbai for his left thumb injury, which he sustained during the 2nd ODI against Bangladesh. He has been given proper management for this injury and will not be available for the first test against bangladesh.
“BCCI’s medical team will make a call regarding his availability for the second and final test at a later stage. The all-India senior selection committee has appointed Abhimanyu Easwaran as his replacement for the first test,” according to a BCCI release.
Pacers Navdeep Saini, Jaydev Unadkat and unlimited spinner Saurabh Kumar are also included in the squad ahead of Shami and Jadeja.
“Fast bowler Mohd. Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja have yet to fully recover from their respective shoulder and knee injuries and have been ruled out of the Test series. The selectors have named Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar as replacements for Shami and Jadeja respectively. The selection committee has also added fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat to India’s squad for the Test series,” the release said.
The first Bangladesh vs India Test will start from December 14 in Chattogram.
The second test starts on December 22 in Mirpur and Rohit will be racing against the clock to get fit for the match.
Easwaran comes into the squad after scoring 299 runs in two matches for the Indian ‘A’ side currently touring Bangladesh.
Left arm spinner Saurabh was the leading wicket taker in the A series against Bangladesh with 15 wickets, while Saini had last played for India in the famous Test in Brisbane in January 2021.
Left arm pacer Unadkat, who has played in one test, returns to the Indian squad after 12 years.
India’s updated squad for Bangladesh Tests: KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles