4.2 C
New York
Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Buy now

Rishabh Pant Only Indian in 2022 ICC Test Team | Cricket news

NEW DELHI: Rishabh pants‘s return to competitive cricket is uncertain due to his serious car accident suffered two days before the new year, but the Indian wicketkeeper’s stellar performances in Test cricket sent him to the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2022.
Pant, 25, is also the only Indian to be included in the team.
Pant saw huge success with the bat in 2022, with 680 runs from 12 innings at an average of 61.81 and a strike rate of 90.90. He had two centuries and four fifties in the year.
He hit 21 sixes in Tests in 2022 and was decent with the gloves, producing six stumps and taking 23 catches.

English skipper Ben Stokeswho transformed the side with his aggressive form of cricket has been named captain of the Test XI which also has teammates Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson.
The ICC Test XI features four Aussies including skipper Pat Cummins who form a pace pairing with South African ace Kagiso Rabada and Anderson.
Pakistan captain Babar Azam and West Indies skipper Kraigg Brathwaite round out the lineup.
Iyer, Siraj only Indians in 2022 ODI Team
Batter of average order Shreyas Iyer and young pacesetter Mohammed Siraj are the only two Indians to secure a place in the 2022 ICC ODI squad led by Pakistan’s Babar Azam.
In a fruitful 2022, Iyer played the role of anchor in India’s star-studded batting line-up in the 50-over.
Playing mostly at No. 4, Iyer played 17 games during the calendar year and scored 724 points at an average of 55.69.
He scored his runs at a brisk pace of 91.52, including a century and six fifties to cement his place in India’s ODI scheme ahead of the World Cup in October–November.
Siraj was one of the most improved bowlers in white-ball cricket, finishing as the leading wicket taker for the Men in Blue with 24 scalps in 15 ODIs in the absence of an injured Jasprit Bumrah.
His wickets had an economy of 4.62 and an average of 23.50, with best figures of 3/29.
2022 ICC Test Team: Ben Stokes (c), Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Rishabh Pant (wk), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon and James Anderson.
2022 ICC ODI Team: Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult and Adam Zampa.
(with PTI inputs)

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles