5 C
New York
Monday, December 5, 2022

Buy now

NZ vs IRE T20 World Cup 2022: Irish Joshua Little takes hat-trick and makes history – Watch | Cricket News

Irish left arm pacer Joshua Little took a brilliant hat-trick against New Zealand on Friday in the Super 12 match of the ICC T20 World Cup in Adelaide Oval, Adelaide. This is only the second hat-trick of this year’s T20 World Cup. Earlier, Karthik Meiyappan from the UAE took a hat-trick against Sri Lanka. Little removed New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, Jimmy Neesham and Mitchell Santner. Ireland is the only team in the history of the Men’s T20 World Cup to have produced two hat-tricks. Curtis Campher previously took a hat-trick in 2021.

This is how Joshua Little took a hat-trick against New Zealand – Watch here

Earlier, Irish captain Andrew Balbirnie won the toss and chose to field. Although Ireland is already out of the semi-finals, the Adelaide Oval game will be crucial for the Kiwis as they aim for a top two finish in Group 1. Currently, Australia, England and New Zealand have five points with one game to go. go, but only two teams advance to the final four. If all three teams win their remaining matches, it will come down to the net run rate to determine the two semi-finalists from this group.

The Kiwis will definitely lead the way in that race because of the huge difference in net run rate. What they cannot afford here is a loss, as that will certainly pave the way for England and Australia, provided they win their remaining matches. That’s what Kane Williamson’s guys are trying to avoid in this match. Ireland may already be out of the semi-finals, but they have already shown that they are a force to be reckoned with on their day. They’ve already beaten a giant in this tournament when they beat England in a rain-stricken encounter and that speaks volumes about their ability as a team. Both teams have named unchanged XIs for the meeting.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Fionn Hand, Joshua Little

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles