1.3 C
New York
Sunday, February 5, 2023

Buy now

No Rohit, Kohli in Babar Azam-led 2022 ICC ODI team, only two Indians picked | Cricket

Pakistan captain Babar Azam was named as skipper of the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022. There was understandably no room for Indian stalwarts Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Both barely played 50-over cricket last year with a strong focus on T20 cricket. There were two Indians on the team, including two players from the West Indies, two from Australia, two from New Zealand and one each from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

Middle order batsman Shreyas Iyer and right arm pacer Mohammed Siraj made their place in the ODI Team of the Year thanks to some consistent performances.

Iyer emerged as one of India’s most consistent hitters in the 50-over format as of 2022, while also becoming the anchor of their middle league.

Playing mostly at No. 4, Iyer played 17 games during the calendar year and scored 724 points at an average of 55.69. He scored his runs at a fast pace of 91.52, including a century and six fifties.

With the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup fast approaching, Iyer is ahead of the competition and becoming a fixture in the Indian ODI line-up.

Siraj’s skills in white-ball cricket, especially the 50-over format, developed in 2022 in leaps and bounds. With Jasprit Bumrah often missing due to injury, Siraj emerged as the Indian pace unit’s most powerful weapon.

Siraj delivered both the new and old ball, playing 15 matches and taking 24 wickets. His wickets had an economy of 4.62 and an average of 23.50, with best figures of 3/29.

Siraj is ahead of the pack and has a good chance of being part of the Indian pace battery for the Cricket World Cup in home conditions scheduled for later this year.

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Babar Azam (c, Pakistan), Travis Head (Australia), Shai Hope (West Indies), Shreyas Iyer (India), Tom Latham (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh), Alzarri Joseph (West Indies), Mohammed Siraj (India), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Adam Zam (Australia).

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles