2.4 C
New York
Saturday, December 10, 2022

Buy now

India predicted XI for 1st ODI vs NZ: Samson vs Pant, Kuldeep or Chahal? | Cricket

Team India is ready to start their campaign against hosts New Zealand in the three match ODI series. The first game of the series will be played on Friday, November 25 in Auckland. In the absence of Rohit Sharma, Deputy Captain Shikhar Dhawan will operate the ship for the visitors. Hardik Pandya, who led India to a 1-0 win in the T20Is, has flown home alongside Ishan Kishan, Mohammed Siraj and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, among others.

Like the T20Is, some key team members will also be missing from action in the ODIs. Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and captain Rohit are not part of the squad. Youths Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar are included in the team for the series.

READ ALSO: ‘Wanted a longer run in Team India but Hardik Pandya came back…’: Venkatesh Iyer ‘understands’ why he was dropped

Samson and speed demon Umran are the hottest favorites of Indian cricket fans who want the two in action on Friday. But it is very likely that both will not get the chance in the 1st ODI as the team management might refrain from experimenting too much. Among the bowlers, Chahar and Thakur are likely to account for the pace department alongside Arshdeep Singh. Kuldeep Yadav and Washington are expected to be the spinners. Kuldeep may get an edge over Chahal given his good performance in the ODI series against South Africa for the T20 World Cup.

Among the batters, captain Dhawan and Shubman Gill will open the innings for the Men in Blue. In the middle order, we expect to see Suryakumar Yadav at number 3, followed by Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Deepak Hooda. The presence of all-rounders Hooda and Washington gives the playing XI great balance. While Hooda offers the sixth bowling option, Washington can be handy with the lower-order bat.

India’s predicted XI for the 1st ODI against New Zealand

openers: Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan(c)

Middle order: Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant

Lower Middle Order: Deepak Hooda

Spinners: Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav

pacemakers: Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles