1.8 C
New York
Friday, December 9, 2022

Buy now

IND vs PAK T20 2022 World Cup: Why was Dinesh Karthik handed out despite Rizwan collecting the ball for the wickets? – Check ICC Rules | Cricket News

In India’s thrilling four-wicket victory over Pakistan in a Super-12 match of the T20 World Cup at the MCG on Sunday, with two runs it took from so many balls to win, wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Karthik was sacked by left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz, adding more drama to the high-pressure confrontation. As Karthik tried to make room for a sweep, Nawaz went flat in his lane and tipped the ball down. Karthik missed the ball on sweep and it bounced off the pad behind the wicket, which was noticed by an alert Mohammad Rizwan.

Pakistani wicket-keeper Rizwan was alert to the fact that Karthik had run out of whack and collected the ball before completing a stunning piece of stump work.

With Rizwan collecting the ball for the wickets, many felt it should have been called a no-ball. But it wasn’t called a no-ball because the ball had hit Karthik’s pads before reaching Rizwan who was standing behind the stumps.

Under MCC’s Law 27.3.1, Rizwan’s collection of the ball was legitimate. The law says: “The wicket-keeper must remain completely behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the time the ball comes into play until a ball has been thrown by the bowler: the bat or person of the batter hits or the wicket passes in the direction of the batter. end or the striker tries to run.”

The next law, 27.3.2, says: “In the event that the wicket-keeper breaks this Law, the batter’s end umpire shall call and signal a ‘no ball’ as soon as it applies after the ball has been thrown.”

Since Rizwan did everything according to the law, his stump of Karthik was considered valid.

Arriving at Sunday’s game, talisman batter Virat Kohli reiterated why he is regarded as one of the best pursuers in white-ball cricket, beating an unbeaten 82 from just 52 balls to take India to an incredible four-wicket victory over arch-rivals in front. 90,293 fans.

After fast bowling duo Hardik Pandya and Arshdeep Singh picked three wickets each to limit Pakistan to 159/8 in their 20 overs, Kohli and Hardik Pandya (40) shared a match-winning score of 113 from 77 deliveries, beating India by 31/4. to 160/6 on the last ball of the match to get their campaign off to a winning start.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

0FansLike
3,598FollowersFollow
0SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles