1.8 C
New York
Friday, December 9, 2022

Buy now

Hockey India names 23-man Indian men’s team to tour Australia | Hockey news

NEW DELHI: Experienced drag flicker Harmanpreet Singh will lead a 23-man Indian men’s hockey team on the upcoming tour of Australia, Ice Hockey India said Tuesday.
India will play five matches against Australia, starting on November 26 in Adelaide as part of their preparation for next year’s World Cup.
The FIH’s flagship event will be held from January 13 to 29 in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela.
While Harmanpreet will lead the team, Amit Rohidas has been selected as vice-captain for the upcoming games.
“The upcoming tour to Australia is a good opportunity for us to test ourselves against one of the top contenders at the upcoming FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023,” said Indian hockey head coach Graham Reid in a press release.
“We have selected a solid line of experienced players who we believe can help us achieve the desired results. We have also infused the team with a mix of young players to expose them to top-level competition and to test the depth of our selection.”
Included in the front line is Mandeep Singh along with Dilpreet Singh, Abhishek and Sukhjeet Singh.
Gurjant Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mohd. Rahel Mouseen, Rajkumar Pal, Nilakanta Sharma, Shamsher Singh, Hardic SinghManpreet Singh and Sumit have been included in midfield for the tour.
In defense, Varun Kumar returns to the team after missing the FIH Pro League matches against New Zealand and Spain in Bhubaneswar.
Jarmanpreet Singh, Surrender KumarHarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor and Nilam Sanjeep Xess form the remaining backline.
Harmanpreet led the Indian team to two victories over New Zealand in the recent FIH Pro League, while finishing 1-1 against Spain in the double leg match.
Indian squad:
keepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran.
Defenders: Jarmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (C), Amit Rohidas (V/C), Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Varun Kumar
midfielders: Sumit, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Mohd. Raheel Mouseen, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh
Forward: Mandeep Singh, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles