5.2 C
New York
Friday, January 27, 2023

Buy now

Ben Stokes, Babar Azam and Jos Buttler Named Captains of 2022 ICC Teams

The annual ICC teams for 2022 are out, in five categories: Men’s Tests, ODIs and T20Is, and Women’s ODIs and T20Is. Some of the usual suspects, the cream of the crop in every format, are there, of course, but there are a few names in each XI that might make you want to head over to the ESPNcricinfo stats pages for a quick double check.

Trial XI men: Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (capt), Rishabh Pant (wk), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson.

It was Bazball’s year, and it comes as no surprise that Ben Stokes will captain the team, even though it has four Australians – Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon – in him. That is to be expected, as Australia is at the top of the World Test Championship table after all.

Second at that table are India, but after a year in which they played just seven Tests, only Rishabh Pant finds a place in the XI.

Stokes’ teammates Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson feature in the line-up, which also includes one player each from the West Indies (Kraigg Brathwaite), Pakistan (Babar Azam) and South Africa (Kagiso Rabada).

Men’s ODI XI: Babar Azam (captain), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa.

Babar is just as lonely in the men’s ODI XI where, again, he is the only one from Pakistan. But he will lead the squad, which has two Indians in Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj.

Things are looking solid, with Bangladesh represented by Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza rewarded for a remarkable year in both white-ball formats. Aside from that, there are two players each from Australia (Travis Head and Adam Zampa), New Zealand (Tom Latham and Trent Boult) and the West Indies (Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph).

But 2022 was a T20 World Cup year, as opposed to 2023, an ODI World Cup year where the teams will play a lot more 50-overs cricket. So maybe around this time next year we’ll have a better idea about the ODI value of the best players in the world.

Men’s T20I XI: Jos Buttler (capt, wk), Mohammad Rizwan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Phillips, Sikandar Raza, Hardik Pandya, Sam Curran, Wanindu Hasaranga, Haris Rauf, Josh Little.

Raza is also in this XI, as are Josh Little from Ireland and Wanindu Hasaranga from Sri Lanka, all big players all year round and especially at the T20 World Cup.

England won that tournament. Jos Buttler led them there and will lead the team here. Sam Curran performed the tournament for England, and is here too. India is well represented by Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, arguably the most talked about player in the format last year. And to round it off there are Mohammad Rizwan and Haris Rauf from Pakistan and Glenn Phillips from New Zealand.

Women’s ODI XI: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana, Laura Wolvaardt, Nat Sciver, Beth Mooney, Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Amelia Kerr, Sophie Ecclestone, Ayabonga Khaka, Renuka Singh, Shabnim Ismail.

If the men played a T20 World Cup in 2022, the women played their ODI World Cup. Australia won. Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney, two of their best hitters in the league, made this XI. The team they beat in the final, England, also has two representatives: Nat Sciver and Sophie Ecclestone, probably the bowler of the year.

India, who failed to make the final four, actually have three star performers here: Smriti Mandhana, in a mouthwatering opening combination with Healy, Harmanpreet Kaur, also the captain, and Renuka Singh, the swing bowler who had such an impressive year.

The best represented team is South Africa, with Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka and Shabnim Ismail. And there can’t be a world XI without Amelia Kerr rounding out the 11.

Women’s T20I XI: Smriti Mandhana, Beth Mooney, Sophie Devine (capt), Ashleigh Gardner, Tahlia McGrath, Nida Dar, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sophie Ecclestone, Inoka Ranaweera, Renuka Singh.

If Mandhana is marked to open with Healy in ODIs, she had Mooney for company in T20Is where Renuka also features along with two other Indians: Deepti Sharma and Richa Ghosh, the young wicket-keeper currently playing in the Under-19 World Cup .

Mooney aside, the T20I XI has two other Australians, Ashleigh Gardner and Tahlia McGrath, another player who made rapid progress in a variety of formats in 2022.

The captain of the team is neither Australian nor Indian, but Sophie Devine, the New Zealand all-rounder. Two other Asians complete the XI: Nida Dar from Pakistan and Inoka Ranaweera from Sri Lanka.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles