5.9 C
New York
Sunday, February 5, 2023

Buy now

BCCI Selection Committee – Chetan Sharma, SS Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee, S Sharath

Chetan Sharma has been reappointed as Chairman of the BCCI’s Senior Men’s National Selection Committee. Chetan, who served in the same position on the previous selection committee, which was dismissed last November, will have Shiv Sunder Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee and S Sharath as colleagues on the new panel.
The five men were chosen by the BCCI’s cricket advisory committee of Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Naik and Jatin Paranjape after “around 600 applications” came in in response to a BCCI advertisement for the positions. The need to appoint a new committee arose after the BCCI removed the earlier panel on November 18 last year – the ad was published on the BCCI’s website the same day – not long after India was knocked out in the semi-finals of the men’s T20 World Cup.

Although the panel was removed, they continued to select India’s national men’s teams for the New Zealand limited-overs series, Bangladesh ODI and Test tour and then the ongoing limited-overs series at home to Sri Lanka in the absence of a new committee. It was understood that the panel, led by Chetan, had been given an extension until the end of 2022 and, in addition to choosing the national sides, was also tasked with monitoring the Ranji Trophy matches until the end of the year.

There were indications that Chetan Sharma would continue

Then, last week, perhaps a big indication that Chetan might not be replaced – even if the others were – he was part of the BCCI review meeting of India’s roadmap to the 2023 ODI World Cup, along with Rahul Dravid, the head coach, Rohit Sharma, the captain of all sizes, and VVS Laxman, the chief of the National Cricket Academy, as well as top executives of BCCI.

The term for the selection panel is usually four years, but they are renewable every year.

Meanwhile, on January 1, the CAC was established to interview the applicants, draw up a shortlist of candidates and send the BCCI its recommendations, on the basis of which the five-member panel is now assembled.

The latest panel has a total of 48 test matches and 95 ODIs. Chetan and Das have both played 23 Tests each, while Ankola and Banerjee played one each. Chetan also played 65 ODIs; Ankola, Banerjee and Das played 20, six and four each. A domestic great who played 139 first-class matches and scored 8700 runs at an average of 51.17, Sharath never played for India.

However, Sharath was the chairman of the junior selection committee until recently and it is something of a raise for him after his panel chose the Indian selection that won the Under-19 World Cup in February last year.

Ankola, the former fast bowler, was also a selector and led the Mumbai selection committee until the new appointment, while Das and Banerjee were involved in coaching. Das is the only member of the selection panel with any T20 playing experience, having played three games in October 2011.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles