1.7 C
New York
Saturday, January 28, 2023

Buy now

Tripura makes 239/6 on Day 1 against holders Madhya Pradesh

Last updated: January 25, 2023, 12:01 AM IST

Gourav Yadav claimed three wickets (Twitter/@BCCIDomestic)

Gourav Yadav claimed three wickets (Twitter/@BCCIDomestic)

Medium-pacer Yadav (3/66) struggled hard for MP and took two more wickets including those from Das and the experienced Sudip Chatterjee (24).

Half-centuries by Sridam Paul and Bikram Kumar Das helped Tripura make 239 for six on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Group D match against defending champions Madhya Pradesh here on Tuesday.

Tripura was sent to bat by the host team captain Aditya Shrivastava and saw their lead-off hitters – Bikram Kumar Das (61, 169 balls, 7 fours) and UU Bose (21) – score 30 runs before the latter fell to Gourav Yadav.

Also read | 3rd ODI: Centurions Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma Star as India complete 3-0 Whitewash over New Zealand

Medium-pacer Yadav (3/66) struggled hard for MP and took two more wickets including those from Das and the experienced Sudip Chatterjee (24). India pacer Avesh Khan ended the day with top scorer Paul’s wicket caught by Shubham Sharma.

A 137-run second wicket partnership between Das and Paul (72, 143 balls, 9 fours, 1 six) helped Tripura put up a challenge for the varied MP attack. Their long association was ended by Yadav, who had Das caught behind by wicketkeeper Himanshu Mantri.

The MP bowlers seemed energized by Das’s dismissal and held the score tight, resulting in another four wickets through stumps.

Yadav claimed Chatterjee’s main scalp in the 77th, after being caught by Mantri.

SS Ghosh (17) and MB Mura Singh (11) were not out when stumps were pulled.

In Ahmedabad, impressive blows from Vivek Singh (97), Pratham Singh (96) and Shivam Chaudhary (83) helped Railways to accumulate 372 for five against Gujarat.

Meanwhile, two other matches in the group – Vidarbha vs Punjab and Chandigarh vs Jammu & Kashmir – saw opening day play cut short due to rain and poor light.

Short Scores: Tripura 239 for 6 in 82 overs (Sridam Paul 72, Bikram Kumar Das 61, Gourav Yadav 3/66) vs Madhya Pradesh.

In Ahmedabad: Railways 372 for 5 in 89 overs (Vivek Singh 97 (109 balls, 6×4, 7×6, Pratham Singh 96 (157 balls, 13×4), Shivam Chaudhary 83 (100 balls, 11×4, 2 ×6), Upendra Yadav 46 innings) against Gujarat.

In Mohali: Vidarbha 1 for no loss in 1 over vs Punjab.

In Chandigarh: Chandigarh 18 for no loss in 6 overs vs J & K.

Get the latest cricket news, schedule and live cricket scores here

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and was published from a syndicated news agency feed)

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles